top of page

Celebrating Our Lord

(By Rachel Joyce)

The idea of celebrating came from God Himself, who designated seven yearly celebrations for His people, complete with feasting and worship: Passover (Pesach), Unleavened Bread (Chag Hamotzi), Firstfruits (Yom Habikkurim), Pentecost (Shavu’ot), Trumpets (Yom Teru’ah), Atonement (Yom Kippur), and Tabernacles (Sukkot).

King David wrote, “We celebrate Your mighty acts” (Ps. 21:13b). He knew that what God had done was worth celebrating. Not only had God performed wonders for His people, He Himself is the God whose name is Wonderful (Jud. 13:18). The psalmist understood that the name, the character of the Lord deserved celebration, “Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; celebrate His lovely [delightful] name” (Ps. 135:3a).

When we look back at what our God has done, we can rejoice, and when we stop and take the time to focus on who our God is, our hearts are filled with praise. We belong to a God who deserves our praise and who is worth celebrating.

We celebrate You, Lord.

Your goodness and love pursued us

Despite our apathy,

Our self absorption.

Unsparing compassion,

And extravagant grace marked Your

Acts of kindness to us,

While lost in our sins.

We rejoice in the cross,

The sacrifice You made for us

To cleanse and to free us,

To make us Your own.

We glory in Your name

And praise You for who You are, Lord,

Worthy of our worship,

Worthy of our all.


bottom of page